About Salem Lutheran Church

Salem Lutheran Church is a friendly, growing congregation of the Northern Illinois Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

In 2009, Salem adopted a new mission statement: “Living Christ’s Love.” Everything done here at Salem strives toward “Living Christ’s Love.” All the programs, committees, and outreach to the community represent how Salem is “Living Christ’s Love.”

Salem Lutheran Church was organized in 1870 when a small group of Swedish immigrants established the Congregation. The church has worshiped in 4 buildings throughout its 132 year history in Sycamore, Illinois. The current facility was built in 1970 and is located at 1145 DeKalb Avenue, kiddie-corner from Farm-N-Fleet on Route 23.

Salem Staff

The Rev. Dr. Len Hoffmann
Interim Pastor
pastor@slcsycamore.org

Carla Vanatta
Deacon
Music and Parish Ministries
Choral and Puppet Director
carla@slcsycamore.org

Ron Vanatta
Organist
Handbell and Disciple Song Director
ron@slcsycamore.org

Sue McMillan
Church Office Secretary
sue@slcsycamore.org

Connie Brown
Part-Time Financial Secretary
financial@slcsycamore.org

Lynn Buckner
Part Time Church Office Secretary
lynn@slcsycamore.org

Katy Kingren
Nursery Director
katy.kingren@slcsycamore.org

Nicole Erickson
Part Time Youth Leader
Nicole.Erickson@slcsycamore.org